

Rehabilitation Specialist & Service Specialist Position Information

(This is for informational purposes only and is subject to change at any time.)

The Nebraska Department of Education (NDE) works to lead and support the preparation of all Nebraskans for learning, earning, and living. VR is an Office within NDE designed to help people with disabilities prepare for, find, and keep a job. We also help businesses recruit, train, and retain employees with disabilities.

Teams: We operate in teams (approximately 9 - 18 total members) comprised of an office director, rehabilitation specialists, service specialists and associates. Much of the decision-making regarding service delivery involves the team or combinations of members in the team.

QE2: We use Macintosh computers, laptops and iPads with a client case management and information system program called QE2. This information system is designed to support our work as teams. Information concerning clients we work with is shared electronically among all team members.

Exempt/Non-Exempt: These positions are classified as non-exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and are eligible for prior approved overtime for any hours worked over 40 in a workweek (Monday to Sunday).

Background Screen: The successful candidate will be offered a position contingent upon passing a background screen, which includes a check through the following: A) Department of Health & Human Services Adult/Child Protect Services Registries; B) Nationwide and Statewide Criminal records; C) Sex Offender Registries; D) Department of Motor Vehicles driving records.

Smoking: All offices and state vehicles are smoke free.

Probation: The probationary period is 12 months and may be extended up to six (6) months, not to exceed a total of 18 months.

Performance Evaluations: During probation, performance is evaluated at 6 months and prior to the end of 12 months. Thereafter performance appraisals are completed annually.

Nebraska VR Website: http://www.vr.nebraska.gov

VR Information 10-2019

Benefits:

- Leave: Employees earn 3.69 hours of sick and vacation leave per pay period. You can carry over 280 hours of vacation per calendar year and there is currently no cap on sick leave carry over. Upon termination vacation leave is paid out to you however, sick leave is only paid if you are 55 or older and then only a quarter is paid up to a max of 480 hours.
- Holidays: The State observes 12 paid holidays (8 hours and you must be in a paid status on both sides of the holiday in order for the holiday to be paid).
- Health Insurance: the State pays 80% of the premium for medical benefits and there are four plans to choose from. This is a pre-tax benefit.
- Dental & Vision: You would pay 100% of the premium. These are pre-tax benefits.
- Life Insurance: \$20,000 in Term Life Insurance which is paid for by the State.
- Long Term Disability, Short Term Disability, Additional Term Life and Dependent Life insurances are also available.
- State Retirement: State retirement is mandatory and starts the first month of employment. You contribute 4.8% pre-tax and the State matches at 156%. You are fully vested after 3 years.
- Deferred Compensation: Employees may elect to defer a minimum of \$25 per month on a pre-tax basis.
- Flexible Spending Accounts: Medical and dependent care expenses may be put in flexible spending accounts which shields the income from taxes.
- State Vehicles: State vehicles are available for conducting state business. Participation in a defensive driving course is required.

VR Information 10-2019